A Taste For Classical

Image

Okay, so I now have another obsession.  Like I don’t already have enough, what with writing, Doctor Who and football.  But several days ago I was browsing on YouTube, looking for something fun to listen to.  I saw something about popular classical music and decided to listen,  I was in the mood for something different.  So I listened to pieces such as 1812 Overture, Moonlight Sonata, William Tell Overture and several others.  I was surprised by how much I enjoyed listening to them.  So I decided to take this new interest one step further and seek out individual composers to hear what else they had.  After all, when you go to a foreign country you don’t just stay at the resort, do you?  If you want a true flavour of the country you go off the beaten track.  You take the road less traveled.  Well, just listening to the popular classics is a bit like staying at the resort.  It’s fun, but you can’t help wondering what else you’re missing.

So I did a search on Mozart and spent a couple of hours listening to various pieces he’d created.  I don’t think I heard a single piece I didn’t enjoy.  The following night I tried out Tchaikovski and spent another hour wallowing in the most beautiful sounds ever created.  The next night I checked out Chopin.  And the next night I butted heads with Beethoven.  Those are my top four composers so far.  I also listened to Haydn, Brahms and Bach.  Everything is so good, but those top four I mentioned are my firm favourites.  So far.  I just can’t stop listening to it!

I’ve even taken to listening to classical music at night before I fall asleep.  It’s so relaxing.  Last night I listened to Tchaikovski’s The Nutcracker.  It was wonderful. 

Here’s one of my absolute favourite classical pieces…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AmEJLoawItU

The music is just amazing.  And I love watching the conductor.  He really gives it everything he’s got.  And he visibly slumps with exhaustion when it’s over.  I remember first hearing this piece when watching Torville and Dean win Olympic gold in 1984.  Has it really been thirty years?  It seems appropriate then that I should develop a taste for classical music on such a great anniversary.  I actually watched their performance on the anniversary of their win.  I didn’t even know at the time of watching it WAS the anniversary.  Synchronisity at its finest.

Last night was another first.  I decided to dust off my work in progress, Psychic Witness, and settle in for some serious editing.  While listening to classical music.  It really seemed to help as the editing just flowed.  For once.  I’m actually starting to believe I can get this novel finished and out there for people to read.

Anyway, I’d love to hear from any other classical music fans out there. Maybe you can point me to composers and music I don’t even know of yet.   

6 thoughts on “A Taste For Classical

  1. Strawinsky is an excellent composer. Firebird and Petrouchka are wonderful.
    Dvorak’s Symphony no9 and Slavonic Dances are amazing.
    Beethoven (of course), symphony no 9, 7, 6, violin concerto, and Leonore Overture are some favourites of mine. I’m a big fan of Herbert Von Karajan as conductor (especially his earlier work). He does excellent interpretation of the music.
    Sarasate’s Carmen Fantasy (as played by Anne-Sophie Mutter) are incredible
    Gorecki’s Symphony no3 (as sung by Dawn Upshaw) is unparalleled
    Bach’s Cello Suites, if you have yet to listen, are a must. All 6 of them. Mischa Maisky is my favourite, but Yo Yo Ma does an excellent job as well.
    Schubert’s Piano Quintet in A is excellent as well.
    If you’re listening to Mozart, I recommend searching for Joseph Suk when listening to violin concertos. And Zuzana Ruzickova for continuo (she’s the most prominent in this instrument).
    The list goes on, but here are a few that I recommend to start! The world of classical music is amazing. Glad to hear you’re enjoying it!

  2. I’m working on that list you gave me. I just heard Dvorak’s symphony 9. It was amazing.
    Now I’ve found a video that has all six Bach cello suites played by Yo Yo Ma. I love what I’m hearing so far!

  3. I like how you describe finding something new you’ve never devoted any time to and it turned out to be fulfilling. You’re a life explorer and means you have an open mind. My blog is called musicalalmanac.wordpress.com and I write about different pieces of classical music and where I was in my life when I first heard them. They’re categorized by composer in a tag cloud if you want to explore that way. All the best.

    • Thank you for your comment. I’m already following you. I’m going to look more closely at your blog over the next few weeks. I like how in depth you go. I want to go deeper into classical music and it looks like your blog will help me with that.

Leave a Reply

