When Characters Revolt!

I’ve mentioned in previous blogs about how I’m stalled on my first novel, Psychic Witness.  Something is just off with the story.  I couldn’t put my finger on what it was, something was just not working.  I couldn’t get the voice of my main character, Toby Manning.  The story is in first person so a good strong voice is obviously vital for the story to work.  But whatever I tried, I just couldn’t seem to get his personality or his voice right.

Yet there is another character, Lori Marshall.  I created her originally as a plot device to bring Toby into conflict with his antagonist sooner rather than later.  But she wasn’t happy with that.  Oh no!  She forced her way into the story more, becoming a vital part of the plot.  Then she started making eyes at Toby’s best friend, Pete Hannity.  Now I think she’s making a play for becoming the main character herself!  What next?  Lori Marshall for President?   Lori Marshall to take over the world?  The thing is, the idea of her becoming the main character is starting to make sense.  I don’t think Toby is right for the role.  Maybe I can find a bit part for him!  I can see how I can make the changes.  Right from the start Lori stood out.  The story comes alive when she’s on the page.  I definitely have her voice and personality much stronger than Toby.  Sorry Toby, you’re getting downsized!

All this will have to go on the backburner though as i have a new project I’m working on and the way this one is going I’ll have it finished in a month or two.  Psychic Witness: delayed, not denied!

3 thoughts on “When Characters Revolt!

Leave a Reply

