Unblocking The Muse

I’ve been stuck in editing hell for too long and it sapped my will to write.  Yesterday I bought five notepads from Staples for a dollar each.  Last night I started writing a new short story.  It felt so good to finally be writing again.  I have no idea where this story is going or even why things are happening yet.  I’m enjoying the ride.  It’s a bit like reading a story.  I get to find out what’s going to happen as I write.  With my novel I plotted every detail of the story so I knew everything that was going to happen.  Writing without any kind of plot or idea where you’re going is kind of scary, because what if I write myself into a corner and have to go back and rewrite?  Yet it’s lso liberating, because I’m finding my writing is more fluid, more organic. 

Last night these two characters came to my mind with a situation.  So I grabbed one of the books and started to write. 

For anyone who’s stuck on a story and has writers block, sometimes simply starting a short story can unblock you.  The most important thing is to keep writing.  It worked for me.  Later I’ll return to this world I’ve just created and see what happens next.  That’s the best thing about being a writer.  Creating a world and seeing what happens next.

4 thoughts on “Unblocking The Muse

  1. So true! I often feel that ‘just writing’ helps a lot if you’re stuck. It gives your writing an extra dimension, because you’re also not sure what is going to happen – just like the reader. It can turn out to be nothing worthy, but could also become a great story… Good luck with the editing! And thanks for stopping by on my blog and liking my post 😉

Leave a Reply

