Blog Hop – What I’m working on now – TheNext Big Thing

What is the working title of your book?

My book is called Psychic Witness.

Where did the idea come from for the book?

It came from an idea that’s been rattling around in my brain for years, about a movie I’d love to see on the big screen.  But if you want it, I guess you have to write it yourself.

What genre does your book fall under?

It’s hard to classify my story.  It’s not a horror.  And it’s not really urban fantasy as there are no paranormal creatures roaming my fictional world.  I’ve been calling it a supernatural suspense.  Is that even a genre?  Maybe I’ve created a new sub genre!

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

My wife and I discussed this as I was in the early stages of brainstorming the story.  The only actor we could really agree on was we’d love Tom Hanks to play the antagonist, Frank Sweeney.  So if you ever read this blog, Tom…

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

Oh, that’s a toughie.  I haven’t really gotten this far yet.  Off the top of my head, “When Toby Manning has a brush with death, he witnesses something that sets him on a collision course with a serial killer.”  Still doesn’t really sum up the essence of my story, but it’s a start.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

I’m going to try my hardest to go the traditional route.  I’d love to see my book on the shelves of my local Barnes and Noble one day.  If it doesn’t work out, I’ll consider my options.  I just want to see my book out there.  After I’ve made it as good as I possibly can, of course.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

Honestly, about two years.  That’s because I wasn’t disciplined enough to sit and write every day.  Sometimes I’d go weeks without writing anything, especially if I was stuck on a scene.  It’s something I’m working on.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

It’s hard to say.  I’m not aware of many books that deal with the subject of out-of-body experiences.  One that comes to mind is Nobody True, by James Herbert.  I’m not ready to compare myself to him, though!

Who or what inspired you to write this book?

I have to give huge credit to my wife.  For years this story was just an idea for a movie I’d like to see.  She’s the one who prompted me to write the book and she’s been my source of inspiration, as well as my cheerleader, ever since.  Without her, this story might well have never been written!

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

I try to keep the out-of-body scenes as true to the myth of astral projection as I can.  I also inject some humor in the story.  I’ve always liked a story that can make me laugh, even in the suspense genre.

Here’s a link to a friend’s blog who is also taking part in the Next Big Thing series. She’s a talented writer.

http://allthethingsaroundme.wordpress.com/2012/11/14/blog-hop/

One thought on “Blog Hop – What I’m working on now – TheNext Big Thing

  1. Pingback: Blog Hop-What I’m working on now – The Next Big Thing « allthethingsaroundme

Leave a Reply

