The Inspiration Behind Psychic Witness

So you might be wondering, what’s with the name Psychic Witness?  Where did it come from?  What does it mean?  Those questions will now be answered.

 

Psychic Witness is the title of my first book.  I’m currently in the middle of editing it.  The story kind of came about by accident.  I’m an accidental writer.  I have no background in writing.  I have no education in writing.  I didn’t study writing in college.

 

I was in Barnes and Noble one evening with my wife.  I’d picked up a magazine called Script and was leafing through it while having a Starbucks coffee.  One phrase that I read in an article stuck in my mind.  That phrase was everyone has a story in them.  I bought the magazine.

 

On the way home, I told my wife about a story I’d had running through my mind for several years.  It was an idea for a movie about a man who has a near-death experience that changes his life and sends him on a spiritual odyssey.  When I told my wife the idea, I expected her to laugh.  But she really liked it.  She suggested I write the novel.  Her suggestion really sparked something in me.  I decided to write it.  But despite my wife insisting it would make a great novel, I had it in mind to write a screenplay.

 

So I set out to write the screenplay.  After a while, I realised this wasn’t for me.  Writing a screenplay is not as easy as it sounds.  You have to write very lean.  I wanted to be able to describe things.  So I started writing the novel.  I knew i needed help so I started looking for websites to help me improve my writing skills.  One of the first sites I came across was www.absolutewrite.com.  I owe so much to that site and to the people on it.  It’s a very active site and there are a lot of great people there who give great advice.  Some are published.  Some are working on that.  And some write simply for fun.  If you’re a writer or you have an idea for a story and you’re thinking of becoming a writer, you could do a lot worse than check this site out.  There are sub forums on all kinds of writing, including novels, short stories, screenplays and poetry.  Whatever your writing interests there’s something here for you. If you do decide to join, look me up.  I post on there as MrWrite.   Ok, that’s a big enough plug for the site.

 

So, here I am, editing my first book with several ideas fermenting in my mind, including a sequel to Psychic Witness.  Like I said, I have no previous writing background.  I truly believe everyone has a story in them.  If you have one, if you have ever considered writing a book, go for it!  Don’t let anyone stop you.  Writing a novel is a long slog and it can get frustrating.  But it’s an amazing feeling when you get to finish writing that book.  You get a true sense of accomplishment.  Go for it.  You won’t know if you can do it until you try.

5 thoughts on “The Inspiration Behind Psychic Witness

  1. Nice post. I learn something more challenging on different blogs everyday. It will always be stimulating to read content from other writers and practice a little something from their store. I’d prefer to use some with the content on my blog whether you don’t mind. Natually I’ll give you a link on your web blog. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

