A Tale of Two Cities book review

To be honest, for a long while as I was reading this book, I wasn’t sure what I thought of it.  While there are some great descriptions and some wonderful insights, some of his paragraphs were so convoluted that I didn’t know what he was trying to say!  I actually made a comment on Twitter a week or so ago, that I’d formed the opinion that Dickens was two part genius and two part a raving lunatic!
In the first part of the book, nothing much seemed to happen, we were introduced to different characters with each chapter, with little plot movement.  But near the halfway point the story began to get going.  The second half of the story was much better.
Like most people, I learned about the French revolution at school.  I was taught the usual facts and figures, the general conditions that led to the uprising. The quality of Dickerns’ narration really brings to life the horrors of the French Revolution and gives you insight into what life was like back then far more effectively than any dry, dusty history book.
The ending was incredible.  I won’t spoil it for anyone who has yet to finish the story, but there is one fictional character I will never forget, after his amazing corageous moment of sacrifice.  And who knew Dickens did suspense?  The last few chapters are real page turners!

2 thoughts on “A Tale of Two Cities book review

Leave a Reply

